Before travelling

The citizens of some countries need to present a tourist visa, which is obtained at the consulates, to enter Colombia. Then it is possible to verify if you need a visa or not.

No visa required
Nationals of the countries listed below do not require a TP-11, TP-12 and TP-13 Visa, to enter and stay temporarily in the national territory: Albania, Germany, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Antigua República Yugoslavia and Macedonia, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Bhutan, Canada, Czech (Republic), Chile, Cyprus, Korea (Republic of ), Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, United Arab Emirates, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United States of America, Estonia, Fiji, Philippines, Finland, France, Georgia, Grenada, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana , Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Iceland, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Norway, New Zealand, Netherlands, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Dominican Republic, Romania, Russia (Federation of), Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, San Marino, Santa Lucia, Holy See, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Serbia, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Hong Kong passport holders – SARG China, passport holders of the Sovereign Military Order of Malta, passport holders of Taiwan-China, Nicaraguan nationals who prove to be natives of the North Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region and the Autonomous Region of the South Caribbean Coast.

Nationals of Cambodia, India, Nicaragua, Myanmar, People’s Republic of China, Thailand and Vietnam may enter Colombia and temporarily remain in the national territory without a visa and provided they accredit:

To be holders of residence permit of a State of the Schengen Area or of the United States of America.
To be holders of the Schengen visa or of the visa of the United States of America with a minimum validity of 180 days at the time of entry into the national territory.
For Nicaraguan nationals, this permit also applies if they prove to be Canadian visa holders or have a Canadian residence permit.

Visa required
The following countries require a Visa to enter Colombian territory. These countries refer to nationalities for which consular offices should not request prior authorization from the Internal Visa Work Group in granting visas, does not refer to all nationalities that require a visa. Algeria, Armenia, Bahrain, Benin, Belarus, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Equatorial, Haiti, India, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lesotho, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Central African Republic, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Swaziland, Thailand, Tanzania, Tajikistan, East Timor, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Student visa or work permit
If the traveler’s reasons for entering the country are study or work, he must apply for a visa or permit at the Colombian consulate accredited in the country where the tourist comes from. Before traveling it is recommended to consult with the nearest consular agent or diplomat, the procedures and requirements demanded by Colombian laws in each case.

Student card
Vaccination certificates
Travel or medical assistance insurance
Recent passport-size photographs
Photocopies of passport, credit cards, insurance and others.

For more information see